Lista semplice
Mostra filtri

Autore Karel Husa

Rimuovi tutti i filtri

Music for Prague 1968


Music for Prague 1968 is a programmatic work written by Czech-born composer Karel Husa for symphonic band and later transcribed for full orchestra, written shortly after the Soviet Union crushed the Prague Spring reform movement in Czechoslovakia in 1968. Karel Husa was sitting on the dock at his cottage in America at the time, listening to the BBC broadcast of the events on the radio. He was deeply moved, and wrote Music for Prague 1968 to memorialize the events. This piece is a standard among wind ensemble repertoire.

The work was commissioned by Ithaca College and was premiered in January 1969 in Washington, DC at the Music Educators National Conference by Dr. Kenneth Snapp and the Ithaca College Concert Band.

The work is scored for 2 Piccolos, 6 Flutes, 2 Oboes, English Horn, 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon, Eb Clarinet, 9 Clarinets, Alto Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Contrabass Clarinet,... (continua)
inviata da Riccardo Venturi 7/9/2019 - 15:29

hosted by