Antiwar songs by Tank
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz DiscogsDiscogs United Kingdom United Kingdom

TankTank is a British heavy metal band, formed in 1980 by Algy Ward, a former member of The Damned. The band is known as part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement. Tank was often compared to Motörhead as both bands, trios fronted by singing bassists, played a loose, almost punk-styled metal music with often colourful lyrics.[
Their 1982 debut album, Filth Hounds of Hades, was positively received by both punk and metal fans as well as most critics, regarded now as one of the best albums of the NWOBHM movement. Allmusic critic, Eduardo Rivadavia; described it as "Tank's best album ever, and qualifying it as an essential item in the record collection of any serious '80s metal fan."
As was the case with many other bands of the era, Tank was never able to build on the promise shown by their first album. The band continued on for years through lineup changes and waning commercial fortunes before finally disbanding in 1989. Ward resurrected the band in 1997 playing tour dates around Europe and Japan for a couple of years. A new album, Still At War, emerged in 2002. In August 2006 Ward reported that he was putting the finishing touches on the demos for the next Tank album, Sturmpanzer. The band's website has listed the release date for this album as "TBA" for years.
On December 20, 2008, a new lineup was announced. Guitarists Mick Tucker and Cliff Evans were joined by original drummer Mark Brabbs and former Bruce Dickinson bassist Chris Dale. Algy Ward was replaced by former Rainbow singer Doogie White. For 2010 the band replaced Brabbs with Voodoo Six drummer, Dave Cavill and released the new Tank album War Machine, with this lineup in released in October 2010. For 2011 the band replaced Cavill with heavy metal drummer, Mark Cross.
In February 2012 the band announced their first live DVD recorded the previous summer in Poland with additional footage to be recorded in March 2012. The band also released details of the return of former drummer, Steve Hopgood, along with details of the forthcoming album, War Nation. Scheduled for release on June 4th on Metal Mind Productions, recording is being overseen new producer, Phil Kinman, at his west London studios.

Current Members:

• Mick Tucker
- 1983 to 1989, 1997 to present
• Cliff Evans
- 1984 to 1989, 1997 to present.
• Steve Hopgood
- 2001 to 2008, 2012 to present.
• Doogie White
- 2008 to present.
• Chris Dale
- 2008 to present.

Previous Members:

• Mark Cross - 2011.
• Dave Cavill - 2010.
• Algy Ward - 1980 to 1989, 1997 to 2008.
• Bruce Bisland - 1997 to 2001.
• Gary Taylor - 1985 to 1989.
• Michael Bettel - 1985.
• Graeme Crallan - 1984.
• Mark Brabbs - 1980 to 1983, 2009.
• Pete Brabbs - 1980 to 1983.

Official Website: http://www.tankofficial.com/

MySpace page: http://www.myspace.com/officialtank